Book of the Year

What Shall We Say? Evil, Suffering, and the Crisis of Faith
Thomas G. Long (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Reference Book of the Year

Dictionary of Scriptures and Ethics edited
by Joel Green (Baker Academic)

The Academy also selected these nine books, listed in alphabetical order

Allah: A Christian Response
by Miroslav Volf (HarperOne)

Craddock on the Craft of Preaching by Fred B. Craddock
by Lee Sparks and Kathryn Hayes Sparks(Chalice Press)

Not Sure: A Pastor’s Journey from Faith to Doubt
by John Suk (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Resonant Witness: Conversations Between Music and Theology (Calvin Institute of Christian Worship Liturgical Studies)
by Jeremy S. Begbie and Stephen R. Guthrie (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Starting With Spirit: Nurturing Your Call to Pastoral Leadership
by Bruce G. Epperly (Alban Institute)

The Pastor: A Memoir
by Eugene H. Peterson (HarperOne)

The Quest for the Historical Satan
Miguel A. De La Torre and Albert Hernandez (Fortress Press)

What the Bible Really Tells Us: The Essential Guide to Biblical Literacy
by T. J. Wray (Roman & Littlefield Publishers)

Worship Matters: A Study for Congregations
by Jane Rogers Vann (Westminster/John Knox Press)

These awards will be presented at the Academy of Parish Clergy’s Annual Conference, May 8-10, 2012, at the Bergamo Center, Dayton, Ohio.