Book of the Year Award

Paul And The Faithfulness of God
by N. T. Wright (Fortress Press).

Reference Book of the Year Award

Feasting on the Word: Matthew, Vols. 1 and 2 (A Feasting on the Word Commentary)
edited by Cynthia A. Jarvis and E. Elizabeth Johnson (Westminster John Knox Publishers).

In addition to the Book of the Year, the Academy has selected the following nine books 

Faithful Generations: Effective Ministry Across Generational Lines
by John R. Mabry (Morehouse Publishing)

Learning to Dream Again: Rediscovering the Heart of God
by Samuel Wells (William B. Eerdmans Publishing)

Practical Care in Rural Congregations and Communities
by Jeanne Hoeft, L. Shannon Jung, and Joretta Marshall (Fortress Press)

Preaching at the Crossroads: How the World – and Our Preaching – Is Changing
by David J. Lose (Fortress Press)

Reading for Preaching: The Preacher in Conversation With Storytellers, Biographers, Poets, and Journalists
by Cornelius Plantinga (William B. Eerdmans Publishing)

The Good Funeral: Death, Grief, and the Community of Care
by Thomas G. Long and Thomas Lynch (Westminster John Knox Press)

The Ox-Herder and The Good Shepherd
by Addison Hodges Hart (William B. Eerdmans Publishers)

The Relational Pastor: Sharing in Christ by Sharing Ourselves
by Andrew Root (InterVarsity Press)

Unapologetic: Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense
by Francis Spufford (HarperOne Publishers)

Unfettered Spirit: Spiritual Gifts for the New Great Awakening
by Robert D. Cornwall (Energion Publications)

What Christianity Is Not: An Exercise in “Negative” Theology
by Douglas John Hall (Cascade Books)


These awards were made at the Annual Conference of the Academy, April 22-24, 2014 at the Siena Retreat Center, Racine, WI.