Book of the Year Award

Building Cultures of Trust
by Martin E. Marty (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)


Reference Book of the Year Award

Mark from Belief: A Theological Commentary on the Bible series
by William C. Placher (Westminster John Knox Press): This award was accepted posthumously by Placher’s friend and colleague, Dr. Raymond B. Williams, faculty emeritus of Wabash College’s religion department.



In addition to the Book of the Year, the Academy selected the following books 

A New Kind of Christianity: Ten Questions That Are Transforming the Faith
by Brian D. McLaren (HarperOne)

Death and Afterlife: A Theological Introduction
by Terence Nichols (Brazos Press)

Hannah’s Child: A Theological Memoir
by Stanley Hauerwas (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Listening to Children of the Spiritual Journey: Guidance for Those Who Teach and Nurture
by Catherine Stonehouse and Scottie May (Baker)

Made for Goodness: And Why This Makes All the Difference
by Desmond Tutu and Mpho Tutu (HarperOne)

Practice Resurrection: A Conversation on Growing Up In Christ
by Eugene Peterson (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Preaching the Gospel of Matthew: Proclaiming God’s Presence
by Stanley P. Saunders (Westminster John Knox Press)

Reframing Hope: Vital Ministry in a New Generation
by Carol Howard Merritt (Alban Institute)

Through Their Eyes: A People’s View of the Global Church
by F. Dean Leuking (Tyra Books)


The following awards were made at the Annual Conference of the Academy of Parish Clergy, February 15-17, 2011, at the Canterbury Retreat and Conference Center, in Oviedo, Florida.