Book of the Year Award

Tending To The Holy: The Practice of the Presence of God in Ministry
by Bruce G. Epperly and Katherine Gould Epperly (Alban Institute)

Reference Book of the Year Award

Revelation: A Commentary, in The New Testament Library
by Brian K. Blount (Westminster/John Knox Press)

In addition to the Book of the Year, the Academy selected the following books 

A People’s History of Christianity: The Other Side of the Story
by Diana Butler Bass (HarperOne)

At the Scent of Water: The Ground of Hope in the Book of Job
by J. Gerald Janzen (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Beyond the Yellow Ribbon: Ministering to Returning Combat Veterans
by David A. Thompson (Abingdon Press)

Kindling Desire For God: Preaching As Spiritual Direction
by Kay L. Northcutt (Fortress Press)

Preaching From Memory to Hope
by Thomas G. Long (Westminster/John Knox Press)

The Future of Faith
by Harvey Cox (HarperOne)

The Power to Comprehend With All the Saints: The Formation and Practice of a Pastor-Theologian
ed. by Wallace M. Allston Jr. and Cynthia A. Jarvis (William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

The Ten Commandments (Interpretation Resources for the Use of Scripture in the Church)
by Patrick D. Miller (Westminster/John Knox Press)

Toxic Spirituality: Four Enduring Temptations of Christian Faith
by Eric W. Gritsch (Fortress Press)

These awards were made at the Annual Conference of the Academy, April 20-22, 2010, at the Sienna Center, in Racine, Wisconsin.