Book of the Year Award

The Book of the Year Award is given to the best book published for parish ministry in the previous year (2008).

Surprised By Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church, by N. T. Wright (HarperOne).

Reference Book of the Year

Zondervan Bible Commentary (One-Volume Illustrated Edition)
F. F. Bruce, General Editor (Zondervan Publishers).

In addition to the Book of the Year, the Academy has selected the following nine books 

A Broad Place: An Autobiography
by Jurgen Moltmann (Fortress Press)

A Short World History of Christianity
by Robert Bruce Mullin (Westminster John Knox Press)

Christ and Culture Revisited
by D. A. Carson (William R. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

Cross Talk: Preaching Redemption Here and Now
by Sally A. Brown (Westminster John Knox Press)

Original Sin: A Cultural History
by Alan Jacobs (HarperOne)

Practical Theology: An Introduction
by Richard R. Osmer (William R. Eerdmans Publishing Company)

The Church: The Evolution of Catholicism
by Richard P. McBrien (HarperOne)

The Lost History of Christianity: The Thousand-Year Golden Age of the Church in the Middle East, Africa and Asia — And How It Died
by Philip Jenkins (HarperOne)

Yours, Jack: Spiritual Direction From C. S. Lewis
edited by Paul F. Ford, by C. S. Lewis (HarperOne)


These awards were made at the Annual Conference of the Academy, February 17-19, 2009, at the Canterbury Retreat and Conference Center, Orlando, FL.